Roasted Corn & Tomato Salsa

Do you ever have those moments where something happens and you’re like “Woahhh – WEEEEIRD” – coincidences always blow my mind!

Sometimes I feel like a kid in a candy store when I start looking for new recipes to try – there are just SO many creative, fun and absolutely delicious recipes out there.  People’s imagination with food makes my head spin (in the good way!)

Last week, I was cyber-stumbling over all these great looking recipes that I wanted to try.  One of them being from Erin at Naturally Ella for Roasted Tomato and Corn Salsa.  I love fresh salsa, especially in the summer time.  I could eat it with a spoon, a fork, a knife, but prefereably with nice salty tortilla chips and frosty margarita.  The salsa sounded delish, and the blog post associated with it was even cuter, as she dished to readers about her surprise engagement!  Love engagement stories!  So I added it to the recipe ‘que’.

Then yesterday, who popped up right next to me on Tastespotting? Erin and her Roasted Tomato and Corn Salsa! Weeeeeird right? So I took that as a sign and while there were no chips or margharitas to accompany it, it was a perfect accompanyment to an otherwise unexciting piece of grilled chicken.  Modified it a tad (mostly to save on time) but it was awesome.  Thanks Erin and congrats on your engagement! Let the wedding planning begin 🙂

Roasted Tomato & Corn Salsa (the quick version)
*Adapted from Naturally Ella

INGREDIENTS

12 oz package of heirloom tomatoes, chopped
(or just plain roma – I personally like the orange and red combo)

3 tomatillos, husked, rinsed and diced

1 ear of sweet corn
(remove corn from cob)

1 medium onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 cup of cilantro, chopped

1 tbsp. chili powder

juice of 1 lime

1 tbsp. olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

1) In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add minced garlic for about a minute, until fragrant, then add chopped onion and cook for about a minute more.

2)  Add the tomatoes and tomatillos to the onion & garlic and sautee for 2-3 minutes, until tomatoes become tender, but not cooked through.

3)  Add the corn to the mixture last, and sautee for about a minute more.

4)  Transfer the tomato/onion/corn mixture to the food processor.  Add cilantro and pulse until you reach your desired consistency.

5)  Transfer the pureed salsa mixture to a large mixing bowl.  Let cool for about 10 minutes.  Then season with chili powder, lime juice and salt and pepper.

Oh boy was this yum! By sauteeing the vegetables, I saved a little bit of time vs. roasting them in the oven, but was still able to get that ‘roasty’ flavor vs. when you make the salsa with the vegetables in their raw form.  It’s crazy the difference in taste between the two!

Roasted Corn & Tomato Salsa

I was so preoccupied with Salsa, I didn’t even see my little buddy getting himself stuck underneath the shelf – someone apparently doesn’t know just how big he’s getting!

Roasted Corn & Tomato Salsa