Black Bean Veggie Soup

Ok, Labor Day has come and gone – September is in full swing – and I know that techincally it’s still summer, but I think it’s safe to start sharing some “fall-ish” recipes.

I’m a brown-bag lunch kind of gal (even though my ‘brown bag’ is actually a plastic grocery bag that hasn’t been used to pick up dog poop).  And after doing the math, I realized that I may actually eat more meals at the office than I do in my own home! Augh – sighhhhh.

It’s real easy to get real bored with lunch from week to week.  There are only so many lunch meats and 100-calorie snack packs to be rotated.  So soup can really put a spring in my lunch step!  And this Black Bean Veggie Soup is a keeper – it get’s an A++++++, because not only is it:

a) pretty

b) easy to make

c) lasts for an entire week’s worth of lunch

It’s healthy, and only 4WW points per serving!

Black Bean & Veggie Soup
*Adapted from Allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS
*1 serving = 1.5 cups
yields about 6 servings (9 cups total)

2 tbsp. olive oil

2 large carrots, peeled and chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

2 large garlic cloves, minced

1 tbsp. Chili powder

1 tbsp. cumin

2 cups chicken stock

2 – 15oz. cans black beans, rinsed and drained

1 – 28oz can crushed tomatoes

1 – 8.75 oz. can whole kernel corn

salt & pepper to taste

1) In a large saucepan or dutch oven, heat olive oil over medium heat; cook onion, carrots and garlic until onion is softened (about 5 minutes).

2) In the meantime, take the crushed tomatoes and 1 can of black beans and puree them together in a food processor.  Set aside.

3) Add chili powder and cumin to onion/carrot/garlic mixture and cook stirring for about a minute.

4) Add the chicken stock, 1 can of black beans and can of kernel corn and bring to a boil.

5) Once the veggies have come to a boil, add the black bean and tomato puree to the pot.  Reduce heat, cover soup, and simmer for about an hour.  Add salt & pepper to taste.

I think the longer you simmer, the better, but I would advise atleast an hour. It really gives all the flavors a chance to really meld together.

This is also a great base for a chilli – I often times will add chicken or lean ground beef to this to make it a more hearty stew vs. soup, but regardless, you’re used plastic grocery bag will be happy 🙂 And so will your belly!